Book Review – The Fear

It’s been a while since I’ve read a psychological thriller, and when I saw this one, I knew I had to read it. I was finished it in a matter of days. I had to find out the ending. I’ve gotten into a habit of predicting the ending, or the twists in physiological thrillers, and I did pick part of the story, but the ending was a surprise.

Louise Wandsworth was groomed and abducted by her pedophile, married, karate teacher at the age of 14. After returning home from that nightmare “romantic weekend in France” Louise and her mother leave her alcoholic father and move to London, hoping to leave behind the horrible memories of Halvern.

18 years later, Louise returns to Halvern after her fathers death, to clean up her childhood home, and put it on the market. She is determined to track down her abuser Mike, and inform him of the way he destroyed her life. What she finds, is that she was not the only one. Mike is back to his old habits, this time grooming 13 year old Chloe. Louise takes it upon herself to stop him from ruining Chloe’s life, as he ruined hers.

Well written and engaging, this is a great read for fans of the genre. Of course, if you are familiar with the way these books often go, you’ll have picked up on many clues throughout, and have a bigger understanding of the plot earlier on. I would definitely recommend The Fear. However, if you want to be held in suspense until the end, you might like to try something else.

Leave a comment